THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Savio Medeira appointed India coach

Savio Medeira

Savio Medeira

The All India Footbll Federation (AIFF) has officially appointmented Savio Medeira as the new Indian national team coach. Savio Medeira wil be in charge of the Indian team till May 2012.

“Savio has the experience of working with the National Team for three-and-a-half-years. His experience will serve us good,” AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das told.

“It’s a big honour to be appointed the Head Coach of my country. It’s a huge responsibility and I’m looking forward to it. It’s a new challenge for me,” Savio said after the official announcement.

Savio’s first assignment as the chief coach of the India team will be two friendly matches against Malaysia later this month.

Talking about the upcoming matches against Malaysia, Savio said: “There is not enough time for the team to prepare. I hope the players would rise to the occasion.”

The AIFF announced the 27-member squad for the upcoming friendly matches against Malaysia to be played in Guwahati and Kolkata on November 13th and 16 respectively.

Click here to see all upcoming fixtures of the Indian national team!



Subhashish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (East Bengal Club), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC)

Anwar Ali (Mohun Bagan AC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Mahesh Gawli (Dempo SC), Sameer Subash Naik (Dempo SC), Debabrata Roy (Dempo SC), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Churchill Brothers SC), Jaspal Singh Parmar (Salgaocar SC)

Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), Climax Lawrence (Dempo SC), Clifford Rayes Miranda (Dempo SC), Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan AC), Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Mohun Bagan AC), Lalrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers SC), Baldeep Singh (Pune FC), Mehrajuddin Wadoo (Salgaocar SC)

Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC), Sunil Chhetri (Mohun Bagan AC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune FC), Baljit Singh Sahni (East Bengal Club), Chongtham Sushil Kumar Singh (United Sikkim FC)

Savio Medeira (Chief Coach), Antonio Marcus Pacheco (Assistant & Goalkeeping Coach), Mandar Tamhane (Manager), Sandeep Kumar (Doctor), Liaqat Ali (Masseur)