THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Al Sadd wins the AFC Champions League

Al Sadd - AFC Champions League 2011

Al Sadd - AFC Champions League 2011

Al Sadd from Qatar has won the AFC Champions League 2011 in a thrilling final against Korea Republic’s Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors.

Al Sadd looked almost certain to win the final as they lead 2-1 till the dying moments of the regulation time. But Jeonbuk managed to level the score at the Jeonju World Cup Stadium to take the final into extra-time.

Jeonbuk opened the scoresheet in the 17th minute, when Eninho found the net for the favourites. But Al Sadd looked confident and an own goal by Woo-Yeon Sim brought the Qataris back into the match.

Abdul Kader Keita put Al Sadd in front in the 61st minute and Qatari fans were already celebrating their team’s second AFC Champions League title since 1989.

But Seung-Hyun Lee spoiled the early party, when the Korean headed home the equaliser with second left on the clock to the delight of the partisan Korean fans.

Both teams kept their opponent away from the own box in extra-time and the final went to a deciding penalty shoot-out.

Al Sadd goalkeeper Mohamed saved two spot kicks, while Algerian international Nadir Belhadj converted his penalty to win the title for Qatar’s Al Sadd.


Congratulations to Qatar’s Al Sadd – the new Champions of Asian club football!


AFC Champions League 2011 – Final
Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors 2-2,2-4 Al Sadd [on penalties]


1-0 Eninho (17′)
1-1 Woo-Yeon Sim (29′, own goal)
1-2 Abdul Kader Keita (61′)
2-2 Seung-Hyun Lee (90’+1′)