THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Sunil Chhetri named AIFF Player of the Year 2011

Sunil Chhetri

Sunil Chhetri

Sunil Chhetri has been declared the AIFF Player of the Year 2011. Sunil was chosen the winner by I-League coaches who voted on a list of 5 players shortlisted for the Award. The criteria for selection stayed performance on the field primarily for India’s International matches and general conduct, both on and off the field.

Sunil who has played 17 International Matches in this Calendar Year has scored 13 goals, the highest by any Indian footballer in 2011. Besides, he has scored 11 goals in 20 Club appearances in 2011. He also stays the recipient of the Arjuna Award and won the Man of the Championship in the recently concluded SAFF Championship in New Delhi.

The Player of the Year will receive a cash award of Rs. 2 lakh plus a silver plaque.

Mr. Kushal Das, the General Secretary of the AIFF lauded congratulated Sunil on his achievement. “I congratulate Sunil for being the AIFF Player of the Year. He has had an outstanding year winning many accolades and I’m sure he will continue his good form in the New Year both for the country and his club,” Mr. Das said.

(AIFF Press Release)