THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

AFC Challenge Cup 2012: India 0-4 DPR Korea

AFC Challenge Cup: India vs DPR Korea

AFC Challenge Cup: India vs DPR Korea

The Indian national team has suffered another defeat at the AFC Challenge Cup 2011, when Savio Medeira’s then went down 2010 FIFA World Cup participants DPR Korea. The North Koreans won the match 4-0.

The Koreans took an early lead in the 3rg minute of the game. Jon Kwang Ik scored the first goal, while Ri Kwang Hyok increased the lead in the 34th minute.

The Indian were lucky to keep the scoreline at 0-2 at half-time, while a third goal for the Koreans was disallowed in the 39th minute.

But the scoreline changed once again after the lemon break as expected and the Koreans handed India two more goals in the 59th and 70th minute of the game.

The Indian were already out of the competition before this final Group B match. India conceded eight goals, while scoring none.

Please LIKE to get all the latest news & updates on the future of Indian football!


AFC Challenge Cup 2012 – Group B
at Dashrath Stadium, Kathmandu (Nepal)

INDIA 0-4 DPR Korea


0-1 Jon Kwang Ik (3′)
0-2 Ri Kwang Hyok (34′)
0-3 Pak Nam Chol (59′)
0-4 Ri Chol Myong (70′)



25-Subhasish Roy Chowdhury; 4-Nirmal Chettri, 19-Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh, 3-Raju Eknath Gaikwad, 22-Syed Rahim Nabi; 12-Anthony Pereira, 21-Rocus Lamare, 28-Jewel Raja Sheikh (61′ 47-Lenny Rodrigues), 32-Reisangmi Vashum (23′ 26-Francis Fernandes); 18-Sushil Kumar Singh, 11-Sunil Chhetri [C] (66′ 6-C.S. Sabeeth)

Unused Subs
1-Karanjit Singh, 36-Arindam Bhattacharya; 5-Anwar Ali, 9-Joaquim Santan Abranches, 16-Samir Naik, 17-Adil Ahmed Khan, 20-Lalrindika Ralte, 27-Gurjinder Kumar Singh, 40-Kingshuk Debnath, 47-Lenny Rodrigues

DPR Korea
1-Ri Myong Guk (62′ 18-Kim Myong Gil); 5-Ri Kwang Chon, 12-Jon Kwang Ik, 14-Pak Nam Chol, 19-Jang Kuk Chol, 20-Ri Kwang Hyok, 23-Jang Song Hyok; 4-Pak Nam Chol (61′ Ri Hyon Song), 8-Ri Chol Myong; 11-Jong Il Gwan, 13-Jang Myong Il (53′ 25-Kim Ju Song)

Unused Subs
21-Ju Kwang Min; 7-Pak Song Chol, 10-Pak Kwang Ryong, 17-An Yong Hak, 21-Ju Kwang Min, 22-Pak Song Chol, 24-Ri Il Jin, 26-Ri Hyong Mu



Chaiya Mahapab (Thailand)

Assistant Referees

Fourth Official

Match Commissioner



Yellow Cards
14′ Jewel Raja Sheikh (India)

Red Card