THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

SEPT to add Indian flavour to Dubai tournament

SEPT U12 team for TTD International Super Cup 2012

SEPT U12 team for TTD International Super Cup 2012

Calicut-based Sports & Education Promotion Trust (SEPT) will participate in the 2012 TTD International Super Cup in Dubai with its U12 team. The Keralite team is scheduled leave for the UAE on April 6 with a total of 16 players and four officials.

The 2nd edition of the TTD International Super Cup will see teams from England, South Africa, Qatar and various other countries in action at one of the highly-rated youth tournaments in the Middle East region. The teams will be divided in the early stages of the event into groups where they play off in a pool stage against those teams drawn in their respected group.

The tournament will be played at Dubai’s “The Sevens” Stadium, which was also the venue of the Indian national team’s friendly match against Azerbaijan in February.

The TTD International Super Cup will be the third international appereance of SEPT, after successful tours to Finland & Sweden (2007) and Malaysia (2009).

The SEPT U12 will play several friendly matches before the tournament to get fully prepared to face the strong international opponents. The 16 players for the SEPT U12 were selected from the 41 centers in eleven districts of Kerala, with a total of 1200 children at these centers.

Dutch coach Marcel van Dijk is expected to join the coaching staff in Dubai to add further strength to the SEPT contingent.

The SEPT team will be sponsored by the Dubai based Shabana & Faizal Foundation.



Players (centres in bracktes)
Suresh Sachin (Parappur), Muhammed Shahad (Palayad), Mohammed Ihsal (Edarikode), Josefin (Edathirinji), Anupam Sreejayan (Calicut), Jawad P.P. (Therattammal), Abid Jumail (Kadalundi), Jidhu Roby (Thiruvambadi), Akhil K. (Vazhakkad), Favad K. (Therattammal), Ninin Alan Noushad (Edathirinji), Sanjay (Poyilkavu), Rumais K. (Therattammal), Muhammad Inayath (Mavoor), Nandu K.T. (Thiruvambadi), Emil Benny (Kalpetta)

Marcel van Dijk (Coach), Manoj Kumar M.C. (Coach), C. Sethumadhavan (Team Manager), Prof. T.M. Abdurahim, Arun K. Nanu