THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Cameroon confirm Nehru Cup 2012 participation

Cameroon confirm Nehru Cup 2012 participation

Cameroon have confirmed their participation in the Nehru Cup 2012 according to Libero Sports India, which was mandated by the AIFF to secure the participation of the African giants. The five-nation tournament will be played in New Delhi from August 22 to September 2.

‘The Indomitable Lions’ (Les Lions Indomptables) are ranked 59th in the latest FIFA World Rankings and they will be travelling to India with a squad made of home based players. The stars from Europe won’t be part of the Cameroon squad due to league assignments across the continent.

“We are glad that Libero Sports India through its partners in Africa have been able to contribute to taking the prestigious Nehru Cup 2012 to the next level by securing the participation of the Cameroon national football team,” said Sukhvinder Singh (Managing Director, Libero Sports India).

“We are sure that the football fans in India shall not only come and support the Indian national football team but also relish the style of play of a high standard African football team which has made such a huge impact on world football,” Sukhvinder added.

Cameroon will be taking part in the Nehru Cup for the second time in the history of the tournament. The Africans took part in the 1993 edition played in Chennai and they topped Group B, which consisted of ‘Les Lions Indomptables’, hosts India and Finland. But the Cameroonians went down to Romania ‘B’ in the semifinal.


22.01.1993 | Group B
Cameroon 0-0 Finland
Goals: none

24.01.1993 | Group B
India 1-1 Cameroon
Goals: 1-0 I.M. Vijayan (?’), 1-1 Djang Maouadjo (46′)

28.01.1993 | Group B
Cameroon 2-0 Finland
Goals: 1-0 Charles Bemima Na (?’), Moosa (?’)

30.01.1993 | Group B
India 2-2 Cameroon
Goals: 0-1 Kom (11′), 0-2 Alexis Syalla (20′), 1-2 V.P. Sathyan (49′), 2-2 Aqueel Ansari (58′)

01.02.1993 | Semifinal
Cameroon 0-4 Romania ‘B’
Goals: 0-1 Cristian Puscas (16′), 0-2 Valentin Stefan (39′), 0-3 Cristian Zmoleanu (45′), 0-4 Gheorghe Craioveanu (50′, pen)