THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Koevermans selects 27 players for final preparations

Wim Koevermans

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has reduced his 37-member squad to 27 probables for the upcoming 2012 Nehru Cup.

The Dutchman dropped goalkeepers Arindam Bhattacharya (Mohun Bagan AC) and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (East Bengal Club), besides Nicolau Colaco (Salgaocar SC), Souvik Ghosh (Pailan Arrows), Rowilson Rodrigues (Dempo SC), Gurjinder Kumar Singh (Pune FC), Denson Devadas (Mohun Bagan AC), Adil Ahmed Khan (Sporting Clube de Goa), Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal Club) and Sushil Kumar Singh (Shillong Lajong FC) from the probables after a few days of training at the KSFA Stadium, Bangalore.

Star skipper Sunil Chhetri is expected to join the India camp after August 12 according to the All India Football Federation (AIFF). The federation has received a written assurance by Sunil’s Sporting Clube de Portugal.

“I’m happy that we got confirmation from his club on his release on August 12 and that leaves us get enough time to work with the player to prepare ourselves for the Nehru Cup,” Koevermans told.

The Indian team will shift base to Jaypee Greens in Greater Noida in mid-August for the final preparation phase for the 2012 Nehru Cup.

The Nehru Cup will kick-off on August 22 with India scheduled to take on Syria in the opening match [+ read more].

More details on the the NEHRU CUP will be available at


Subrata Paul (Prayag United SC), Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC)

Nirmal Chettri (Mohun Bagan AC), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Nallappan Mohanraj (Pune FC), Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan AC), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Prayag United SC), Gurwinder Singh (East Bengal Club), Irungbam Khelemba Singh (Mohun Bagan AC)

Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Alwyn George (Pailan Arrows), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Gilbert Oliviera (Salgaocar SC), Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC), Sanju Pradhan (East Bengal Club), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Mohun Bagan AC), Baldeep Singh (Prayag United SC), Ongnam Milan Singh (Pailan Arrows)

Sunil Chhetri (Sporting Clube de Portugal ‘B’), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune FC), Manandeep Singh (East Bengal Club), Robin Singh (East Bengal Club)

Wim Koevermans (Head Coach), Savio Medeira (Assistant Coach), Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeper Coach)

More details on the the NEHRU CUP will be available at