THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

VIDEO: India 0-1 Argentina [1984 Nehru Cup]

1984 Nehru Cup: India 0-1 Argentina

The Indian national team faced a star-studded Argentina national team in the 1984 Nehru Cup at Kolkata.

The Indian team coached by Yugoslavia’s Milovan Ciric went down to the South Americans by a solitary goal scored by Ricardo Gareca in the 79th minute.

The 1984 Nehru Cup was won by Poland, while China finished 2nd in the tournament. Romania’s U21 national team and Hungarian club side Vasas Budapest took also part in the competition.

More details and exclusive updates on the the NEHRU CUP will be available at



Atanu Bhattacharya (Bengal), Pratap Ghosh (Bengal)

Pem Dorji (Bengal), Krishnendu Roy (Bengal), Manoranjan Bhattacharya (East Bengal Club), Tarun Dey (East Bengal Club), Aloke Mukherjee (East Bengal Club), Anudeb Das (Bengal), Abdul Majid, Ramraj

Bikash Panji (Bengal), Prasanta Banerjee (Bengal), Parminder Singh (Punjab), Victor Amalraj, Arnold Rodrigues, Babu Mani

Bidesh Bose, Shabbir Ali (Bengal), Arup Das (Bengal), Krishanu Dey (Mohun Bagan AC), Biswajit Bhattacharya (Bengal), Narender Thapa (Maharashtra)

Milovan Ciric (Coach), Shanto Mitra (Assistant Coach), Amjad Khan (Assistant Coach)



January 11, 1984
India 1-2 Poland
Goals: 0-1 Dariusz Dziekanowski (10′), 0-2 Krzysztof Pawlak (34′), 1-2 Biswajit Bhattaracharjee (42′)

January 14, 1984
India 0-1 Argentina
Goal: 0-1 Ricardo Gareca (79′)

January 19, 1984
India 0-1 Vasas Budapest, Hungary
Goal: 0-1 Gabor Hires (43′)

January 21, 1984
India 0-0 Romania U21
Goals: none

January 24, 1984
India 0-3 China
Goals: 0-1 Li Huayun (42′), 0-2 Li Huayun (60′), 0-3 Jia Xiuquan (81′


WATCH the video clip…