THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Koevermans names India squad for Singapore friendly

Wim Koevermans and Team India Players celebrating

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has named a 20-member squad for India’s friendly match against Singapore on October 16.

Sporting Clube de Portugal star Sunil Chhetri will lead the Indian team in their away friendly match at the Choa Chu Kang Stadium.

“It feels nice to think that I will be playing for the National Team along with all my mates. The Nehru Cup triumph stays fresh in our memories and we need to sustain the momentum,” Sunil told AIFF Media.

“We need to assess ourselves. We need more such matches,” India coach Wim Koevermans said.

The Indian team will leave for Singapore in three batches from Kolkata, Mumbai and Delhi on October 13.

The Singapore v India match at the Choa Chu Kang Stadium is scheduled to kick-off at 19.45 local time (17.15 IST | 14.45 CET | 13.45 GMT).

Please LIKE to get all the latest and exclusive (Indian) football news as they happen!



Subrata Pal (Prayag United SC), Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar FC)

Nirmal Chettri (Mohun Bagan AC), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan AC), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Prayag United SC), Gurwinder Singh (East Bengal Club)

Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar FC), Alwyn George (Pailan Arrows), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC), Sanju Pradhan (East Bengal Club), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Mohun Bagan AC), Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC)

Sunil Chhetri (Sporting Clube de Portugal ‘B’), Robin Singh (East Bengal Club) , Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC)