THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FIFA Ballon d’Or: Showdown in Zurich

FIFA Ballon d'Or

The countdown is on for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2012 gala which is set to take place at the Kongresshaus in Zurich (Switzerland) on Monday evening.

The world of football is awaiting the announcement of the winner’s in eight categories including the prestigious FIFA Ballon d’Or (Men) and FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year awards.

The nominees for the awards were compiled by the FIFA Football Committee, the FIFA’s Committee for Women’s Football and a group of experts from France Football.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Andrés Iniesta (Spain) and Lionel Messi (Argentina) have made it to the final list out of a 23-man shortlist for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award, while Marta (Brazil), Alex Morgan (USA) and Abby Wambach (USA) have been selected from a ten-player shortlist for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award.

Journalists, national coaches and captains have casted their votes in each category and the winner’s will be announced at the gala scheduled to start at 19.00 CET (23.30 IST / 18.00 GMT).

Argentine superstar Lionel Messi could win the FIFA Ballon d’Or for a fourth consecutive time, but UEFA European Player of the Year award Andres Iniesta is a hot contender to win the prestigous award for the very first time.

The FIFA Ballon d’Or gala will be broadcasted LIVE in many countries and the show will be hosted by English TV presenter Kay Murray and former Dutch international Ruud Gullit. Scottish singer Amy Macdonald will be one of the show acts during the award gala.


The Award Categories
• FIFA Ballon d’Or
• FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year
• FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year
• FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year
• FIFA Presidential Award
• FIFA Fair Play Award
• FIFA Puskas Award
• FIFA/FIFPro World XI