THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Koevermans names 23-member India squad for AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers

Indian national team

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has named his 23-member squad for the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers scheduled to kick-off in Yangon on March 2, 2013.

Pune FC striker Jeje Lalpekhlua has found his way back to the Indian team after a long time as captain Sunil Chhetri heads the final list announced today.

The Indian team will leave for the capital city of Myanmar on late Monday evening from Mumbai and they will reach Yangon on Tuesday morning.

Sunil and his Churchill Brothers SC teammates Sandip Nandy, Denzil Franco and Lenny Rodrigues will join the Indian team on February 27 after their 2013 AFC Cup away match against Hong Kong’s Kitchee SC (February 26). East Bengal players Raju Eknath Gaikwad, Mehtab Hossain and Robin Singh are scheduled to arrive in Yangon one day later as the trio would take on Selangor in their AFC Cup match at the Saltlake Stadium on February 27.

India will face hosts Myanmar, Chinese Taipei and Guam in Group A of the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers and Wim Koevermans’ team will face Chinese Taipei in their first match on March 2.


Sandip Nandy (Churchill Brothers SC), Subrata Pal (Prayag United SC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar FC)

Nirmal Chettri (Mohun Bagan AC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Souvik Ghosh (Pailan Arrows), Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan AC), Rowilson Rodrigues (Dempo SC), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Prayag United SC), Gurjinder Kumar Singh (Pune FC)

Izumi Arata (Pune FC), Lalkamal Bhowmick (Prayag United SC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Alwyn George (Pailan Arrows), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Mohun Bagan AC), Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC), C.K. Vineeth (Prayag United SC)

Sunil Chhetri (Churchill Brothers SC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune FC), Robin Singh (East Bengal Club)