THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

AIFF designs new Trophy for I-League Champions

I-League Trophy

A new glittering Trophy awaits the 2012-13 I-League Champions. The All India Football Federation has designed a dedicated Trophy which will be handed over to the Champion Team the day they are crowned Champions.

The Trophy, a Gold-plated one and which has a full-sized silver football at the top has been designed in Europe. It will do the rounds every year like it happens across the World.

Kushal Das, General Secretary, AIFF said: “It is the endeavour of AIFF to practice the best principles of other Leagues and accordingly we thought to create a more contemporary look to the I-League Trophy in line with Trophies given in European Leagues,” All India Football Federation (AIFF) General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das said.

I-League CEO Sunando Dhar informed: “This is the first time a dedicated Trophy is being given away to the I-League Champion. The Trophy has been designed in Europe and is at par with any top League’s Trophy.”

“Previously there used to be one Trophy given away to the Champions who retained it.”

Dhar also pointed out that since last year the I-League Trophy is being given on the ground itself and not at a later date. “On the day when the concerned club are crowned Champions, the Trophy is handed over to them. This has been in practice since last year,” he opined.

As it stands, Churchill Brothers are on the brink of winning their second I-League crown and need just one point from the two remaining matches against Mohun Bagan (Tuesday, May 7, 2013) and Air India on May 12, 2013.

As per the I-League table, Churchill Brothers would be handed over the Trophy on Tuesday (May 7) itself if they are able to earn a point against Mohun Bagan. But if they are unable to do so, the Trophy would travel to Pune for the last round where it will be handed over to either Churchill Brothers or Pune FC.

(AIFF Press Release)