THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Koevermans announce India squad without Subrata and Nabi

Indian national team training session

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has named a 20-member squad for the upcoming friendly match against Tajikistan, while opting to omit the likes of Subrata Pal and Syed Rahim.

Subrata and Nabi are just two of the players omitted from the 30 probables named by the Dutchman in July. The other absentees are Lalkamal Bhowmick, Asif K., Mohammed Rafique, C.K. Vineeth, Alwyn George, Sandesh Jhingan, Karma Tsewang and Jeje Lalpekhlua.

Tajikistan, presently ranked 106th in the FIFA World Rankings, will host India in Khujand on August 14. The Indian team is scheduled to leave from New Delhi on August 9, while the squad would return on August 16 before they proceed to Bangalore for the SAFF Championship 2013 preparatory camp.

Koevermans would call-up a few other players to join the Bangalore camp according to the AIFF.


Sandip Nandy (Mohun Bagan AC), Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar FC)

Nirmal Chettri (IMG-Reliance), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Arnab Mondal (East Bengal Club), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (IMG-Reliance), Gurjinder Kumar Singh (Pune FC)

Izumi Arata (Pune FC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar FC), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal Club), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Dempo SC), Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC), Shylo Malswam Tulunga (East Bengal Club)

Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC), Robin Singh (Bengaluru FC), Dawson Fernandes (Sporting Clube de Goa)

Wim Koevermans (Head Coach), Savio Medeira (Assistant Coach), Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeping Coach)

(Picture courtesy AIFF Media)