THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Koevermans replaces injured Gurjinder Kumar with Sandesh Jhingan

Indian national team

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has called-up young Sandesh Jhingan to replace injured Gurjinder Kumar Singh to his squad to face Tajikistan next week.

Gurjinder sustained a quadriceps injury on his right leg and he will be out of action for a minimum of four weeks, which does also mean that the Pune FC player will miss the SAFF Championship 2013 in Nepal next month.

Sandesh, who joined Pailan Arrows from United Sikkim FC, has earned his first call-up to the senior Indian national team due to Gurjinder’s injury.

The Indian team will depart to Tajikistan from New Delhi tomorrow morning.


Sandip Nandy (Mohun Bagan AC), Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar FC)

Nirmal Chettri (IMG-Reliance), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Sandesh Jhingan (Pailan Arrows), Arnab Mondal (East Bengal Club), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (IMG-Reliance)

Izumi Arata (Pune FC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar FC), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal Club), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Dempo SC), Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC), Shylo Malswam Tulunga (East Bengal Club)

Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC), Robin Singh (Bengaluru FC), Dawson Fernandes (Sporting Clube de Goa)

Wim Koevermans (Head Coach), Savio Medeira (Assistant Coach), Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeping Coach)