THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

2014 FIFA World Cup – The Groups are out!

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil

The 2014 FIFA World Cup Final Draw Ceremony took place in Costa Do Sauipe on Friday.

The 32 qualified team have been drawn into eight interesting groups (Group A to Group H). Group B with defending champions Spain, Netherlands, Chile and Australia could be termed the “Group of Death”.

Former legends Cafu (Brazil), Fernando Hierro (Spain), Zinedine Zidane (France), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Lothar Matthaus (Germany), Alcides Ghiggia (Uruguay), Geoff Hurst (England) and Mario Kempes (Argentina) assisted during the ceremony.

Many dignitaries from the world of football attended the function including 30 of the 32 national team coaches from the qualified countries.

The opening match between Brazil and Croatia will be played at the Arena de São Paulo on June 12, 2014, while the Final is scheduled to take place on July 13, 2014.

Germany, meanwhile, will become the first team to reach 100 World Cup matches when they face Portugal on June 17, 2014.

2014 FIFA World Cup | The Groups

Group A
Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B
Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C
Colombia, Greece, Côte d’Ivoire, Japan

Group D
Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E
Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F
Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G
Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H
Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic