THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Bayern Munich named Team of the Year 2013

Sportler des Jahres
Bundesliga giants FC Bayern Munich have been named the “Team of the Year 2013” at the annual German Sportsperson of the Year (Sportler des Jahres) gala on late Sunday evening.

The gala event was held at the “Kurhaus” in the German city of Baden-Baden and the who is who of German sports took part in the function to honour the best performers in the year 2013. International Olympic Committee President Thomas Bach was also present at the “Kurhaus” which played host to more than 700 guest including 35 reigning World and European Champions in different sports.

Bayern Munich won the award in the “Team of the Year 2013” category after an impressive run in the last twelve months and winning the treble comprising of the Bundesliga, German Cup (DFB-Pokal) and of course the UEFA Champions League.

2013 World Championships discus throw gold medalist Robert Harting swooped the “Sportsman of the Year 2013” award, while 2013 World Championships javelin throw gold medalist Christina Obergföll won the “Sportswoman of the Year 2013” award.

The annual German Sportsperson of the Year (Sportler des Jahres) gala is organised by the Internationale Sport-Korrespondenz (ISK) in co-operation with German TV channel ZDF. The winner in each category is determined by a voting amongst more than 3,000 German sports journalists.

The first “Sportler des Jahres” voting was conducted in 1947, when Gottfried von Cramm (Sportsman of the Year / Tennis) and Marga Petersen (Sportswoman of the Year / Athletics) won the inaugural awards. The “Team of the Year” award was given away for the first time in 1957 as Borussia Dortmund clinched the award.

Sportsman of the Year 2013
1. Robert Harting (Discus Throw / 2,920 points)
2. Sebastian Vettel (Formula 1 / 2,788 points)
3. Raphael Holzdeppe (Pole Vault / 1,893 points)

Sportswoman of the Year 2013
1. Christina Obergföll (Javelin Throw / 3,552 points)
2. Sabine Lisicki (Tennis / 2,806 points)
3. Maria Höfl-Riesch (Skiing / 1,445 points)

Team of the Year 2013
1. FC Bayern Munich (Football / 3,782 points)
2. German Women’s National Team (Football / 1,562 points)
3. VfL Wolfsburg – Women’s (Football / 1,134 points)