THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

BREAKING NEWS: Cristiano Ronaldo wins the FIFA Ballon d'Or 2013

FIFA Ballon d'Or - Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA Ballon d'Or - Cristiano Ronaldo

Portugal and Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013 award. The announcement was made a few moments ago during a glittering gala at the Kongresshaus Zurich.

Four-time Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi and 2013 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award winner Franck Ribéry lost out to Ronaldo, who claimed the majority of votes casted by the national team coaches, national team captains and selected journalists around the world.

“First of all I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team. Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award,” an emotional Cristiano Ronaldo said.

“Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment. All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved.”

German women’s national team keeper Nadine Angerer received the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year ahead of USA’s Abby Wambach and Brazil’s Marta. “I have to say that I’m a little surprised, but very thankful. First of all I have to thank everybody that voted for me. I just want to pay my respects to Marta and Abby who have had an incredible year too.”

“You never get a success like this on your own. I have to thank my teammates and my goalkeeping coach who raised me to a level that I never thought I’d get to. Also I have to thank the people in my private life, I have a great family who have been a great support to me over the years. My friends have also been very supportive to me. Thanks to everybody,” Angerer told.

Former Bayern Munich coach Jupp Heynckes won the FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year ahead of Sir Alex Ferguson and Jürgen Klopp, while German women’s national team coach Silvia Neid claimed the FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year.

“I’m tremendously thankful to be here to pick up this award today. It means a lot to pick up an award right at the end of my career. Normally in team sports it is often difficult to put things together like this. It isn’t just down to me this is down to the whole club, Bayern Munich, everybody that has been working with me during this period,” Jupp Heynckes said.

“We have been blessed with world class players and they produced amazing performances. The coaching staff have also lent their weight. I want to thank everybody that has pulled together and helped me to produce this winning team. Maybe ten years ago, I wouldn’t even have dreamt of this. I am humbled and happy to be standing here. Thank you very much,” Heynckes signed off.

The Afghanistan Football Federation (AFF) was awarded the FIFA Fair Play Award for their achivements in the past months which found its climax in a 2-0 win against record champions India in the 2013 SAFF Championship.

The 90 minutes FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013 gala hosted by Brazilian top model Fernanda Lima and former Dutch international Ruud Gullit was broadcasted live in 193 countries.


Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern Munich);  Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid CF), Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris St. Germain), Dani Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona); Andrés Iniesta (Spain, FC Barcelona), Xavi (Spain, FC Barcelona), Franck Ribéry (France, FC Bayern Munich); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris St. Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)

FIFA Presidential Award
Jacques Rogge (Belgium; former IOC President)

FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year
Silvia Neid (German national team)

FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year
Jupp Heynckes (former coach FC Bayern Munich)

FIFA Fair Play Award
Afghanistan Football Federation (AFF)

FIFA Puskas Award
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris St. Germain)

FIFA Special Award (Prix d’Honneur)
Pelé (Brazil)

FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year
Nadine Angerer (Germany, Brisbane Roar)

FIFA Ballon d’Or
Cristiano Ronaldo / Lionel Messi / Franck Ribéry