THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mumbai FC go down 1-2 to Salgaocar FC

I-League: Mumbai FC v Salgaocar FC

I-League: Mumbai FC v Salgaocar FC

Mumbai FC’s slumped to a second consecutive defeat in the Federation Cup group stage going down 1-2 to Salgaocar FC in their Group B clash at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi on Saturday.

Defender Matthew Foschini (12th minute) gave Salgaocar the lead before Naduparambil Pappachen Pradeep (46th) equalised for Mumbai FC. However, a penalty-conversion by Gilbert Olivera (74th) handed the Goans all three points.

Both teams went down to ten men in the final stages of the match after Rohit Mirza (MFC) and Clifton Dias (SAL) were sent off for two bookings. The loss also ended Mumbai FC’s hopes of progressing into the next stage.

Salgaocar took the lead in the 12th minute on a freekick earned after defender Anwar Ali fouled striker Daryll Duffy. Foschini stepped up and scored directly on the set-piece.

Soaking pressure for majority of the half, Mumbai FC went into the break trailing 0-1.

However, Mumbai FC had the best possible start to the second half as they equalised almost instantly. After striker Ezeh Henry did well to hold on to the ball, he found Pradeep on the run and the attacker scored with a first time shot.

Salgaocar once again took the lead midway through the half. After substitute Mirza handled the ball inside the box, Gilbert stepped up and made no mistake from the spot converting the penalty.

Mumbai FC went close to equalise in the 80th minute when Yusif Yakubu’s header off Nicholas Rodrigues’ freekick was palmed over by Salgaocar ‘keeper Karanjit Singh.

Five minutes later, Mumbai FC had a glorious chance when Henry was fouled inside the box by defender Chika Wali and the referee pointed to the spot. Yakubu, who stepped up to take the spot kick, saw his attempt come off the woodwork as the opportunity went abegging.

Mumbai FC tried to press in the final minutes but Salgaocar held on or the win.