THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Balwant Singh and Amrinder Singh earn debut India call-ups

Balwant Singh celebrates his goal for Churchill Brothers

Balwant Singh celebrates his goal for Churchill Brothers

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has announced his squad of 20 players for India’s international friendly against Bangladesh slated to be held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, Goa on March 5.

Pune FC goalkeeper Amrinder Singh and Churchill Brothers SC striker Balwant Singh got their maiden call-ups to the national camp, while goalkeeper Subrata Pal (FC Vestsjælland, Denmark), defender Sandesh Jhingan (Mumbai FC) and Alwyn George (Dempo SC) have been called-up to the squad after missing the last few India matches.

The squad will assemble in Goa on March 1, while Amrinder Singh, Gurjinder Kumar, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Mehtab Hossain, Lalrindika Ralte and Aibhorlang Khongjee would be joining the pack on March 2 due to Airtel I-League commitments.

The India v Bangladesh match on March 5 is scheduled to kick-off at 18.00 IST (13.30 CET / 12.30 GMT).


Subrata Paul (FC Vestsjælland, Denmark), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), Amrinder Singh (Pune FC)

Narayan Das (Dempo SC), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Sandesh Jhingan (Mumbai FC), Aibhorlang Khongjee (Mohun Bagan AC), Gurjinder Kumar (Pune FC), Arnab Mondal (East Bengal Club)

Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Victorino Fernandes (Sporting Clube de Goa), Alwyn George (Dempo SC), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal Club), Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC)

Sunil Chhetri (Captain, Bengaluru FC), Balwant Singh (Churchill Brothers SC), Robin Singh (Bengaluru FC)

Arindam Bhattacharya (Churchill Brothers SC), Subhashish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (East Bengal Club); Nicolau Colaco (Salgaocar SC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Nallappan Mohanraj (Sporting Clube de Goa); Denson Devadas (Mohun Bagan AC), Pronay Halder (Dempo SC), Asif Kottayil (United SC), Mohammed Rafique (United SC); Gabriel Fernandes (Pune FC), Thongkhosiem Haokip (Pune FC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Dempo SC), CK Vineeth (Bengaluru FC)