THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

AIFF Club Licensing Committee to meet on May 21

Airtel I-League

Airtel I-League

The All India Football Federation’s Club Licensing Committee – First Instance Body – will meet at the AIFF Headquarters in Football House, New Delhi on Wednesday, May 21.

On agenda is the decision to issue the National and AFC Licenses to the License applicants for the 2014/15 Season including newly promoted outfit Royal Wahingdoh FC will be taken by the above aforementioned body.

The call will be taken on the basis of the documents provided by all the parties concerned and the Inspection conducted by the AIFF Inspection Team in the month of April/May 2014.

The Committee comprises of Chairman Dr. Girija Shanker Mungali, FIFA Regional Developmental Officer for South and Central Asia Dr. Shaji Prabhakaran, Advocate Ushanath Banerjee, and Punkaj Jain, Chartered Accountant, and Airtel I-League CEO Sunando Dhar.

Apart from Pune FC who fulfilled the Licensing criteria in the first year itself, all other Clubs were given a one-year exemption to comply with the same for the just-concluded Season.

The 13 Clubs in question are Bengaluru FC, Dempo SC, Pune FC, Salgaocar SC, Churchill Brothers SC, East Bengal Club, Mohun Bagan AC, Sporting Clube de Goa, United SC, Mumbai FC, Rangdajied United FC, Shillong Lajong FC, and Royal Wahingdoh FC.

Licensing is an annual process where all clubs eligible to compete based on sporting merit need to have a License under the AIFF’s Indian Club Licensing System.

(Report courtesy AIFF Media)