THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

New India Women’s coach Tarun Roy names 2014 Asian Games probables

Indian women’s national team

Indian women’s national team

The Preparatory Camp for the Indian women’s national team for the forthcoming 17th Incheon Asian Games 2014 will kick-off in Mumbai from July 11 to August 25, 2014. The camp would be followed by an International Exposure Tour to China from August 25 to September 10 from where the squad would be advancing to Incheon for the Asian Games.

Head Coach Tarun Roy has named a list of 35 probables for the camp in Mumbai. The list, however, would later be cut down to chopped to 18 for the Asian Games. This is the first time that an Indian women’s team will be participating in Asian Games.

Roy who was an AIFF scout in the Senior Women’s National Championships held in Assam highlighted about the “quality” within the squad.

“I was very much impressed with the overall quality of the players. During the course of the Preparatory Camp, I will be paying emphasis on improving the fitness levels of the squad,” he told AIFF Media.

“We need to fine-tune some aspects and can never afford to shift away from AIFF’s philosophy. My aim is to bring down the AFC Ranking of the Indian women’s team to single digit,” he further stated.

At present, the Indian women are ranked 51st in the world and 11th in Asia.


Okram Roshni Devi (Manipur), Aditi Chauhan (Delhi), Tikina Samal (Orissa), Pushpa Tirkey (Jharkhand)

Romi Devi, Radharani Devi, Umapati Devi (all from Manipur), Ashalata Devi (Delhi), Suprava Samal (Railways), Tuli Goon (West Bengal), Lako Bhutia (Sikkim), Nirmala (Haryana), Sumitra Marandi (Jharkhand)

Kamala Devi (Railways), Premi Devi, Bembem Devi, Mandakini Devi (all from Manipur), Supriya Routray, Manisa Panna, Montesori Chanu (all from Railways), Ammolya Kamal (Karnataka), Swati Rawat (Delhi), Neha Kumari (Bihar), Dorothi Oriya (Assam), Margaret Castanha (Goa), Manpreet Kaur (Railways), Indumathi Kathiresan (Pondicherry)

Parmeshwori Devi, Rinaroy Devi, Dangmei Grace, Bala Devi (all from Manipur), Jyoti Burrett (Delhi), Pinky Magar, Sasmita Malik (both from Ralways), Jabamani Soren (Orissa)

Durva Vahia (Goalkeeper; Maharashtra), Paromita Sit (Midfielder; Karnataka), Kavita Devi (Froward; Haryana), Gita Das (Forward; West Bengal), Nandhini Munusamy (Forward; Tamil Nadu).

(Report & Picture courtesy AIFF Media)