THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

54 teams to vie for the 20th Classic Cup 2014 in Kohima

Shillong Lajong FC

Shillong Lajong FC

54 teams will vie for the title of the 20th Classic Cup 2014 to be played from August 18 until September 6 at the local ground in Kohima, Nagaland.

The prize money for the Champion will be Rs. 1,50 lakh and Runner-up Rs. 70,000 with a running trophy and individual prizes.

But last year champion Kohima Komets and runner-up Elite FC are not taking part in the 20th edition.

Two time champions (2009, 2010) Nagaland Police are amongst the teams vying for the cup, also 1995 and 1998 winners New Market is one of the most consistent teams that has taken part in the Classic Cup. New Market will be playing for the 19th time in the tournaments history. It missed only the 2012 edition.

New Market had won the 1st edition in 1995 and 4th edition in 1998 and was runner-up on four occasion – 2004, 2006, 2010 and 2011 and had taken part in the championship for 17th consecutive times from 1995-2011.

For the second time in the Classic club football tournaments history a team from Manipur named Koubru Sporting Club, Imphal is taking part in the championship. ARC, Shillong, Meghalaya was the other who took part in the tournament in 2004 and lifted the trophy.

Other prominent teams in the reckoning are Barak FC, last semi-finalist – Head Hunters, one time semi-finalist Addax Club, three quarterfinalists from last edition HQ, IGAR(N), Bill Graham Road FC, Orion FC and Kohima Village Youth organization.

The 20th Classic Cup 2014 participants:
Khiiwma FC , Kohima Bible College, Alianza FC, New Market B, Akiu FC, New Reserve Youth Organization, TiemaKe Kidima, Fennec FC, Status Quo FC, Arsenic FC, Twenty 14 FC, Gideon Chandmari United, Mele FC, Vanguard FC, Hurricane Boys, Tsosinyu United FC, Brotherly Club, Nagaland Police, Invictus FC, Little Youngsters, Kezekevi FC, Chetheba Town Students Union, Chizami Boys FC, Phonix FC, Colt United Boys, Koinonia Baptist Church, Young Crepers, Junior Anchor, The Kings FC, Eagles Club, Epitome FC, Billy Graham FC (B), Boyz United Club, Young Boyz FC, Luminious FC, Street Hawks FC, Ablaze FC , Billy Graham FC (A), A.Yhome FC, Chedema FC, FC Chiechama, New Market, Head Hunters, Adroit Boyz Club FC, Kohima Raiders, Twenty 11 FC Viswema, 4th NAP, Koubru SC Imphal, Orion FC, Addax Club, DEF Kohima, HQ IGAR(North), Barak FC, Kohima Village Youth Organization