THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Tarun Roy names India Women's squad for Incheon Asian Games

India Women's national team

India Women's national team

India Women’s national team head coach Tarun Roy has named a 22-member squad for the Exposure Tour to China ahead of the 2014 Incheon Asian Games next month.

The initial list of 31 players has been trimmed down to 22 who would be travelling to China for the 15-day Exposure Tour from August 25 till September 9. They will move to Incheon, Korea Republic directly from China.

The tow-time SAFF Champions are expected to play three practice matches against two top teams of the Chinese Women’s Super League namely Jiangsu Huatai and Shanghai SVT. The teams are currently placed second and third respectively in the league table. Either of the two teams will play India twice. The probable dates of the three matches are August 29, September 2/3 and September 5/6.

India have been drawn to Group A of the 2014 Incheon Asian Games women’s football tournament along with last Asian Games’ bronze medalists Korea Republic, Thailand and the Maldives. Three teams from groups of four and two from the three team group will advance to the quarter finals of the 17th Asian Games.

The India Women’s national team last played in the Asian Games back in 1998 where they failed to qualify from their group. This will be only their second appearance.