THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Cavin Lobo hands Atlético a lucky win against FC Goa

FC Goa v Atlético de Kolkata

FC Goa v Atlético de Kolkata

Hero Indian Super League (ISL) leaders Atlético de Kolkata travelled to Goa to face FC Goa at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda today.

FC Goa opened the score sheet when former Brazil and Arsenal star André Santos unleashed a powerful left-footed strike from inside the box to put the ball past Atlético goalkeeper Apoula Edel.

The match was a quite evenly balanced affair as FC Goa took a 1-0 lead to the half-time break. Atlétco de Kolkata didn’t cause too much danger of the FC Goa goal, while the hosts were happy with their lead.

The second half witnessed an increasing number of fouls and off-the-ball incidents, which already started in the first half when Fikru Teferra Lemessa and Grégory Arnolin had a few disputes.

The visitors from the “City of Joy” had not much to offer and they were even lucky not to concede a second goal, when Apoula Edel produced a goalkeeping blunder after a shot by Debabrata Roy. The goalkeeper failed to punch away the ball properly and had luck on his side as the ball hit the post and fell into his hands.

But Atlético managed to score the equalisier against the run of play. Cavin Lobo chested down a flick by Fikru and slotted home from a close distance.

FC Goa kept on pushing for their second goal, but Cavin Lobo brought down the hopes for the home side with his second goal of the night. The ball reached Cavin at the edge of the box and he quickly reacted with a powerful shot into the top corner.

Atléico de Kolkata managed to escape with lucky three points against FC Goa as the visitors claimed a 2-1 away win..

2014 Hero Indian Super League
at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda


1-0 André Santos (21′)
1-1 Cavin Lobo (71′)
1-2 Cavin Lobo (84′)


FC Goa
1 Jan Šeda – 2 Debabrata Roy, 3 Narayan Das, 5 Youness Bengelloun, 15 Grégory Arnolin – 6 Peter Carvalho, 7 Robert Pirès [C] (86′ 16 Bruno Pinheiro), 27 André Santos, 24 Clifford Miranda (74′ 11 Holicharan Narzary) – 25 Ranti Martins Soleye (80′ 26 Tolgay Ozbey), 14 Gabriel Fernandes

Unused Subs
21 Laxmikant Kattimani – 4 Rowilson Rodrigues, 8 Alwyn George, 9 Miguel Herlein, 12 Bikramjit Singh, 17 Mandar Rao Desai, 18 Zohib Islam Amiri, 19 Romeo Fernandes

Atlético de Kolkata
25 Apoula Edel – 2 Biswajit Saha, 17 Josemi, 5 Arnab Mondal, 12 Denzil Franco (22′ 15 Sanju Pradhan) – 8 Borja Fernández [C], 23 Ofentse Nato, 11 Jofre Mateu (73′ 24 Arnal Llibert), 7 Cavin Lobo – 6 Baljit Singh Sahni, 9 Fikru Teferra Lemessa (89′ 26 Sylvain Monsoreau)

Unused Subs
1 Subhasish Roy Chowdhury – 10 Luis García, 14 Mohammed Rafi, 21 Jakub Podany, 22 Lester Fernandez


Chris Penso (USA)

Assistant Referees
…, …

Fourth Official


Yellow Cards
12′ Borja Fernández (Atlético de Kolkata)
33′ Fikru Teferra Lemessa (Atlético de Kolkata)
47′ Gabriel Fernandes (FC Goa)
52′ Cavin Lobo (Atlético de Kolkata)
52′ André Santos (FC Goa)
69′ Ranti Martins Soleye (FC Goa)
76′ Biswajit Saha (Atlético de Kolkata)

Yellow-Red Cards

Red Cards


Cavin Lobo (Atlético de Kolkata)