THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Tolgay Ozbey's injury time goal does the trick for FC Goa

FC Goa v Delhi Dynamos FC

FC Goa v Delhi Dynamos FC

FC Goa played host to Delhi Dynamos FC in a Hero Indian Super League (ISL) clash at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda today.

FC Goa produced the first dangerous moment of the game when Narayan Das’s cross hit the crossbar before going wide moments into the game. But the hosts had to cope with a goal at the other end as Mads Junker put Delhi in the lead in the 7th minute.

Miroslav Slepička, Zohib Islam Amiri and Grégory Arnolin missed various chances to score the equalisier for FC Goa in the first half, while Junker and Bruno Herrero Arias failed to increase Delhi’s lead.

The hosts continued with their poor finishing in the second half and they were lucky to finally pull one back through Indian international Jewel Raja Shaikh. Jewel put a fine header into the back of the net in the 73rd minute.

The crowd at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium errupted in injury time, when substitute Tolgay Ozbey received a chip from Slepička just to round the onrushing Delhi Dynamos goalkeeper Kristof Van Hout and slot it home to turn the game in favour of FC Goa.

FC Goa won the match 2-1 and registered their first win in the inaugural Hero Indian Super League.

2014 Hero Indian Super League
at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda


0-1 Mads Junker (7′)
1-1 Jewel Raja Shaikh (73′)
2-1 Tolgay Ozbey (90’+3′)


FC Goa
1 Jan Šeda – 2 Debabrata Roy, 15 Grégory Arnolin [C] (58′ 26 Tolgay Ozbey), 5 Youness Bengelloun, 3 Narayan Das – 19 Romeo Fernandes, 23 Jewel Raja Shaikh, 16 Bruno Pinheiro, 17 Mandar Rao Desai (85′ 24 Clifford Miranda) – 27 André Santos (27′ 18 Zohib Islam Amiri) – 20 Miroslav Slepička

Unused Subs
21 Laxmikant Kattimani – 4 Rowilson Rodrigues, 8 Alwyn George, 9 Miguel Herlein, 11 Holicharan Narzary, 12 Bikramjit Singh, 22 Prabir Das, 25 Ranti Martins Soleye

Delhi Dynamos FC
1 Kristof Van Hout – 8 Adil Ahmed Khan, 3 Stijn Houben, 5 Anwar Ali, 26 Shouvik Ghosh – 11 Francis Fernandes, 15 Bruno Herrero Arias, 6 Hans Mulder (83′ 16 Gustavo Dos Santos), 28 Shylo Malswamtulunga – 9 Mads Junker [C] (63′ 10 Alessandro Del Piero), 7 Morten Skoubo (46′ 14 Dinis)

Unused Subs
24 Marek Cech – 4 Wim Raymaekers, 17 Manandeep Singh, 18 Munmun Lugun, 19 Robert Lalthlamuana, 20 Souvik Chakraborty, 22 Naoba Singh



Assistant Referees
…, …

Fourth Official


Yellow Cards
14′ Grégory Arnolin (FC Goa)
20′ Stijn Houben (Delhi Dynamos FC)
60′ Adil Ahmed Khan (Delhi Dynamos FC)
67′ Debabrata Roy (FC Goa)
90’+1′ Zohib Islam Amiri (FC Goa)
90’+4′ Tolgay Ozbey (FC Goa)
90’+6′ Gustavo Dos Santos (Delhi Dynamos FC)

Yellow-Red Cards

Red Cards


Jewel Raja Shaikh (FC Goa)