THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mumbai City held to another goalless draw

Mumbai City FC v FC Goa

Mumbai City FC v FC Goa

Mumbai City FC faced visiting side FC Goa in a Hero Indian Super League (ISL) encounter at the D.Y. Patil Stadium on Monday.

FC Goa had the first few promising moves, but Mumbai City FC settled to the game as the first half proceeded. The encounter turned into a tightly contested affair while both sides were not able to find the back of the net within the first 45 minutes.

Mumbai City FC were denied a clear penalty in the second half, when FC Goa substitute Zohib Islam Amiri brought down André Francisco Moritz in the box. But the referee misjudged the situation and awarded a free kick to FC Goa.

Moritz was once again in the spotlight later stage in the game, when the Brazilian midfielder almost put the hosts in the lead with a left-footed shot. But his shot was denied by the crossbar.

FC Goa had their best moment of the game in the 85th minute as Tolgay Ozbey hit the post with a powerful shot from outside the box. The visitors had another chance moments later, but Subrata Pal pulled out a great save to deny Romeo Fernandes.

Mumbai City FC and FC Goa settled for an 0-0 draw after 90 minutes at the D.Y. Patil Stadium.

2014 Hero Indian Super League
at D.Y. Patil Stadium, Mumbai




Mumbai City FC
1 Subrata Pal – 2 Johan Letzelter, 5 Manuel Friedrich [C], 17 Deepak Kumar Mondal, 27 Pavel Cmovs – 16 Peter Costa, 6 Jan Stohanzl, 20 Lalrindika Ralte (77′ 13 Ram Malik), 21 André Francisco Moritz – 12 Singam Subash Singh (64′ 14 Nadong Bhutia), 39 Nicolas Anelka

Unused Subs
31 Ishan Debnath, 41 André Preto – 3 Raju Eknath Gaikwad, 4 Tiago Ribeiro, 10 Diego Fernando Nadaya, 11 Javi Fernández, 15 Asif Kottayil, 18 Sushil Kumar Singh

FC Goa
1 Jan Šeda – 2 Debabrata Roy, 3 Narayan Das, 5 Youness Bengelloun, 15 Grégory Arnolin – 12 Bikramjit Singh, 27 André Santos, 7 Robert Pirès [C] (67′ 18 Zohib Islam Amiri), 17 Mandar Rao Desai – 14 Gabriel Fernandes (71′ 19 Romeo Fernandes), 26 Tolgay Ozbey (88′ 25 Ranti Martins Soleye)

Unused Subs
21 Laxmikant Kattimani – 4 Rowilson Rodrigues, 10 Edgar Marcelino, 16 Bruno Pinheiro, 20 Miroslav Slepička, 24 Clifford Miranda


Muringothumalil Bhaskaran Santosh Kumar (India)

Assistant Referees
…, …

Fourth Official


Yellow Cards
28′ Mandar Rao Desai (FC Goa)
71′ Grégory Arnolin (FC Goa)
73′ Pavel Cmovs (Mumbai City FC)

Yellow-Red Cards

Red Cards