THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Golaghat to host second phase of 2nd Division League

2nd Division I-League

2nd Division I-League

As the 7th match day will come to an end on April 16, 2015, Second Division League will be shifted to Golaghat, Assam to make the Assamese taste the Indian football. Three stadiums in the likes of Bokakhat Stadium, PTC Stadium Deragaon and Golaghat Stadium will host the seven rounds of matches (Round 8 to Round 14).

Round 8 will kick off on April 21, Tuesday and the second division round 14 will conclude on May 9, Saturday. After 19 days of gruelling football in Assam, one of the eight teams will finish it off to secure a berth in the next edition of I-League.

While Aizawl FC, Chanmari FC were the likely contenders, Lonestar Kashmir FC received accolades from every Indian football connoisseur for their dynamic football so far. Once they hold their nerves till the end, none can dare to write them off. After some lacklustre performances in first couple of matches, Mohammedan SC regrouped well and registered thumping victories against Kenkre and PIFA, having gained much needed confidence to go all out in the next stages.

Kenkre and PIFA have little to take home from Siliguri, but they can start from the scratch while they travel to Golaghat. An I-League berth is a distant dream for them, but they might dish out some exemplary football as they have nothing to restore but their pride. Tad shade of complacency against these Mumbai teams might be futile for the biggies.

Come April 21, Kenkre will have a faceoff with Chanmari FC at Bokaghat Stadium while Hindustan FC will get underway with their Golaghat sojourn against PIFA at PTC Stadium, Deragaon. Aizawl FC, the table toppers at the moment will start their second spell against Kolkata-based United SC and Lonestar Kashmir FC will have a late kick-off against Mohammedan SC.

Barring the last tie, which is scheduled at 18.00 IST at Golaghat Stadium, all are due to kick off together at 15.00 IST in three aforementioned stadiums.

(Report courtesy I-League Media)