THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

AFA announce re-launch of Assam State Premier League (ASPL)

Assam State Premier League (ASPL) launch press conference

Assam State Premier League (ASPL) launch press conference

The Assam Football Association (AFA) announced the re-launch of a revamped Assam State Premier League (ASPL) which is slated to kick-off from May 29, 2015.

The league which will witness participation from twelve city based clubs has been segregated into two groups of six teams. At the end of the group stages, which will see teams face off against each other in a home and away format, while the four top teams from each group will progress into the Championship Stage of the ASPL. The Quarterfinals and Semifinals would also be played on a home and away format.

In addition to that, there will be an expense cap for the teams. And for the first season the expense cap is set to be Rs. 25 Lakh (maximum).

Speaking on the occasion, H.M. Brahma, AFA President, said: “We believe that the ASPL in its new format will bring the required professionalism in the field of football in Assam. And in turn, this will have a huge effect on Assam football in a very positive way.”

This exciting and innovative format of the ASPL is hoping to create a new demography for Indian football as it will not only entertain the vision of creating a strong domestic league, but will also implant an effective grassroots football development through various football activities organized by the ASPL clubs.

AFA General Secretary, Ankur Datta, expressed that the ASPL would become a beacon for football in Assam in the near future. “The ASPL will become the pillar of future growth of football in Assam. Strong professional clubs will emerge from Assam in the Hero I-League and a large number of talented youths will be attracted to the sport through a number of football training camps, to be set up by the ASPL clubs,” Datta, also an AIFF Executive Committee Member stated.

“Together with the ASPL Clubs and District Associations, the AFA will pursue the government to develop infrastructure across the ASPL team locations, which will make Assam a state with the finest sports infrastructure in the near future.”

The twelve teams to participate in the first season of ASPL are:

UPPER ASSAM ZONE: Barekuri FC Tinsukia, Trinayanjyoti FC Dibrugarh, Moran Town Club, Jorhat Town Club, Karbi Anglong Morning Star FC, Golaghat Rhino FC

LOWER ASSAM ZONE: Udalguri FC, Tezpur United, FC Green Valley, Guwahati FC, Barhungkha AC Kokrajhar, Global FC Gossaigaon.