THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

India to face UAE, Palestine & Afghanistan in AFC U-19 Championship qualifiers

AFC U-19 Championship 2016 Qualifiers

AFC U-19 Championship 2016 Qualifiers

The Draw Ceremony for the AFC U-19 Championship 2016 Qualifiers took place at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysian on Friday. The Indian U-19 national team will face UAE, Palestine and Afghanistan in Group C of the West Zone.

A total of 43 Member Associations including finals hosts Bahrain will compete in the qualifiers and they were divided into two zones – the West Zone which has 25 teams and the East Zone with 18 teams.

The ten group winners and five best second-placed teams will qualify for the finals while hosts Bahrain received an automatic qualification (total 16 teams). If Bahrain finish top of their qualifying group or one of the five second best-placed teams, the next (sixth) second placed team will qualify for the final competition.

The qualifiers will be held from September 28 to October 6, 2015, while the Group C matches will be played in Palestine.


West Zone
Group A: Uzbekistan, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka (hosts), Bhutan
Group B: Yemen, Saudi Arabia (hosts), Turkmenistan, Syria
Group C: UAE, Palestine (hosts), India, Afghanistan
Group D: Qatar (hosts), Oman, Lebanon, Kyrgyzstan
Group E: Iran (hosts), Kuwait, Jordan, Nepal
Group F: Iraq, Bahrain, Maldives, Tajikistan (hosts)

East Zone
Group G: Myanmar, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Brunei, Timor-Leste
Group H: Thailand, Korea Republic, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Northern Mariana Islands
Group I: DPR Korea, China, Malaysia, Macau
Group J: Japan, Australia, Philippines, Laos