THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

I-League clubs meet AIFF top brass

I-League clubs meet AIFF top brass
I-League clubs meet AIFF top brass

Photo Courtesy: I-League Media

It was an elite gathering of Owners and Top Officials from the Hero I-League clubs as they met the All India Football Federation (AIFF) President Praful Patel at a sassy hotel in the Capital on Thursday (July 23) evening. Besides, Kushal Das, General Secretary, All India Football Federation and Sunando Dhar, CEO, I-League, were also present.

The Meeting, very much informal, unanimously decided to create a joint concerted effort for the development of the Hero I-League and “build up a hype around the league.”

It was decided that the clubs would nominate two Committees to promote the Hero I-League better. The two Committees – a Marketing and Technical Committee would be part of a joint Committee working collectively with all other stakeholders involving the League.

Patel stressed that the Hero I-League stays the “primary league of the country.”

“The AIFF supports the Hero I-League to the fullest and we will continue to do so,” he stated.

Dhar, recently back from an AFC Workshop in Singapore also informed about the possibility of paying a visit to top some European Leagues to “witness and learn on marketing and fan development.”

“Clubs can also have a look at the match day operations, youth development programmes, etc, and it can be planned in September,” he proposed, much to the appreciation from the participating clubs.

Meanwhile, Patel congratulated and welcomed newcomers Aizawl FC into the Hero I-League.

Robert Royte, President, Aizawl FC, the newly promoted team into the Hero I-League invited all the clubs to witness Aizawl FC’s opening match in the league.

“We are a club who have reaped huge benefits from our Academy system. We invite you all to come over and watch us. That would be a huge encouragement for us,” he informed.

The list of representatives from the Hero I-League clubs stay as follows:
Srinjoy Bose, Debashish Dutta (Mohun Bagan AC); Parth Jindal, Mustafa Ghouse, Mandhar Tamhane (Bengaluru FC); Debabrata Sarkar, Amit Sen, Arunava Bhattacharya (East Bengal Club); Nandan Piramal, Chirag Tanna (Pune FC); Atul Badgamia (Mumbai FC); Peter Vaz, Victor Fernandez (Sporting Clube de Goa); Larsing Sawyan (Shillong Lajong FC); Kunal Aggarwal (Bharat FC); Robert Royte (Aizawl FC)