THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Karbi Anglong Morning Star FC crowned champions of Assam State Premier League

Karbi Anglong Star FC
Karbi Anglong Star FC

Photo courtesy: AIFF Media

Karbi Anglong Star FC were crowned champions of the 2015 Assam State Premier League (ASPL) on July 25, 2015 in Diphu, Assam as they defeated FC Green Valley 2-1. The revamped league launched by the Assam Football Association (AFA) to catalyst the growth of young talent engulfed the state in euphoria as 1.97 lakh football fans poured in to witness the football carnival.

A total of 60 matches were played in the Group Stages of the ASPL, which ran from May 29 to July 2, 2015. Twelve clubs were divided into two Zonal Groups (Upper Assam and Lower Assam) and the four top clubs from each Zonal Group progressed into the knock-out stages of the competition, which, analogous to the Group Stages were also played in a Home and Away format.

The Zonal Group Stage also proved to be exciting and enthralling for fans, who flocked to witness the carnival as 173 goals were scored in 60 matches, with an average of 2.88 goals per match.

Furthermore, champions Karbi Anglong Morning Star were awarded with Rs. 5 Lakh, while runners-up FC Green Valley were awarded Rs. 3.5 Lakh.

The list of the clubs which participated in the APSL 2015 follows:
Barekuri FC Tinsukia, Jorhat Town Club, Trinayanjyoti FC Dibrugarh, Moran Town Club Sivasagar, Karbi Anglong Morning Star FC, Rhino FC Golaghat, Baarhoongkha AC Kokrajhar, Global Sports Club Gossaigaon, Guwahati FC, FC Green Valley, Udalguri FC, Tezpur United FC