THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FIFA Puskás Award: Ten best goals of the year announced

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015

The race to determine the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award for the “best goal of the year” has started on Friday, 6 November 2015, on and Fans from across the world will decide which of the ten goals chosen by FIFA and selected Football Committee members will be the winner of this award.

The ten goals are (in alphabetical order of the scorer’s names):

  • David Ball – 29.03.2015, Fleetwood Town – Preston North End, League 1 (England)
  • Gonzalo Castro – 12.04.2015, Real Sociedad – Deportivo de la Coruña, Primera Division (Spain)
  • Alessandro Florenzi – 16.09.2015, AS Roma – FC Barcelona, UEFA Champions League
  • Wendell Lira – 11.03.2015, Atletico-GO – Goianesia, Campeonato Goiano (Brazil)
  • Carli Lloyd – 05.07.2015, USA – Japan, FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™
  • Lionel Messi – 30.05.2015, Athletic Bilbao  – FC Barcelona, Copa del Rey (Spain)
  • Philippe Mexes – 25.07.2015, AC Milan – Inter Milan, Friendly Match
  • Marcel Ndjeng – 13.07.2015, SC Paderborn – Bolton Wanderers, Friendly Match
  • Esteban Ramirez – 02.11.2014, Herediano – Deportivo Saprissa, Primera Division (Costa Rica)
  • Carlos Tevez – 09.11.2014,  Juventus – Parma Calcio, Serie A (Italy)

Videos of the ten goals, as well as the list of scorers and the voting tool, can be found here: and on FIFA on Youtube.

Users of and will be able to choose from the ten goals until 30 November, when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed. Immediately after the announcement on 30 November, and users will be able to vote again for their favorite from the three remaining goals. The winner will be revealed on the day of the FIFA Ballon d’Or on 11 January 2016. Voting will close during the show.

The FIFA Puskás Award, created in honor and in memory of Ferenc Puskás, the captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s, will be presented for the seventh year in a row at the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015, which will be held at the Kongresshaus in Zurich.

During a televised show, the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the best player of 2015 as well as the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2015 will also be revealed. Meanwhile, the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award will be presented for the sixth time.