THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC drawn to interesting AFC Cup groups



I-League sides Mohun Bagan AC and Bengaluru FC have been handed interesting draws for the 2016 AFC Cup Group Stage during a Draw Ceremony which took place at the Hilton Petaling Jaya, Malaysia moments ago.

The clubs have been drawn into eight groups split to the West Zone (Groups A, B, C and D) and East Zone (Groups E, F, G and H).

Mohun Bagan will face South China (Hong Kong), Yangon United or Yadanarbon (both Myanmar) and Maziya Sports & Recreation (Maldives) in Group G, while Bengaluru FC will take on Johor Darul Ta’zim (Malaysia), Lao Toyota FC (Laos) and Ayeyawady United (Myanmar) in Group H.

The Group Stage will kick off on February 23, 2016. The 2016 AFC Cup is scheduled to take place on November 5, 2016.



Group A
Al Wehdat or Al Jazeera (both Jordan), Al Ahed FC (Lebanon), Altyn Asyr (Turkmenistan), Winner Playoff 1 (BHR/PAK)

Group B
Nafit Al Wasat (Iraq), Al Faisaly (Jordan), FC Istiklol (Tajikistan), Winner Playoff 2 (LIB/KGZ)

Group C
Al Orouba (Oman), Air Force Club (Iraq), Al Dharia (Palestine), Winner Playoff 3 (SYR/TKM)

Group D
Al Muharraq (Bahrain), Fanja (Oman), Al Jaish (Syria), Winner Playoff 4 (PLE/TJK)


Group E
Tampines Rovers or Warriors FC (both Singapore), Selangor FA (Malaysia), Ceres La Salle FC (Philippines), Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd (Bangladesh)

Group F
Kitchee (Hong Kong), Balestier Khalsa SC (Singapore), New Radiant SC (Maldives), Kaya FC (Philippines)

Group G
Mohun Bagan AC (India), South China (Hong Kong), Yangon United or Yadanarbon (both Myanmar), Maziya Sports & Recreation (Maldives)

Group H
Johor Darul Ta’zim (Malaysia), Bengaluru FC (India), Lao Toyota FC (Laos), Ayeyawady United (Myanmar)