THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Chennaiyin FC loan seven players to I-League clubs

Chennaiyin FC


Newly-crowned Hero Indian Super League (ISL) champions Chennaiyin FC confirmed the completion of loan deals of as many as seven of their players to the 2015-16 I-League.

ISL 2015 Emerging player Jeje Lalpekhlua, defender Dhanachandra Singh and forward Balwant Singh have been loaned to reigning I-League champions Mohun Bagan.

The trio was part of Mohun Bagan’s I-League winning squad last season also and thus has won the two big trophies in Indian football in the last six months.

Young Jayesh Rane, who provided three assists in the ISL including John Steven Mendoza’s winner in the final, has been sent on loan to his boyhood club Mumbai FC.

Midfielder Zakeer Mundampara has been loaned to I-League newboys DSK Shivajians while Chennaiyin’s two auction buys in the 2015 ISL – midfielder Thoi Singh and goalkeeper Karanjit Singh – have joined Bengaluru FC and Salgaocar respectively.

Barring Jeje, who only completed his loan move to Mohun Bagan on Friday, all six are expected to feature in the opening weekend of the 2015-16 I-League which starts from Saturday.

A few more Chennaiyin players could also be loaned to the I-League later in the season.

Four of Chennaiyin’s loan players during the ISL – Harmanjot Singh Khabra (East Bengal), Sena Ralte (DSK Shivajians), Pawan Kumar (Mumbai FC) and Gilbert Oliveira (Salgaocar) – will also be competing in the I-League.

The seven players that Chennaiyin have loaned to the I-League so far
Jeje Lalpekhlua (Mohun Bagan AC)
Dhanachandra Singh (Mohun Bagan AC)
Balwant Singh (Mohun Bagan AC)
Jayesh Rane (Mumbai FC)
Zakeer Mundampara (DSK Shivajians FC)
Thoi Singh (Bengaluru FC)
Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar FC)