THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Chennaiyin FC loan Abhishek Das and Mehrajuddin Wadoo

Chennaiyin FC


Newly-crowned Hero Indian Super League (ISL) champions Chennaiyin FC confirmed the loan moves of their two right backs Abhishek Das and Mehrajuddin Wadoo to the I-League.

While young Abhishek has been loaned to Mohun Bagan AC, the experienced Wadoo has joined Sporting Clube de Goa.

These two loan transfers follow the earlier announcement of the loan moves of seven other Chennaiyin players – Balwant Singh, Dhanachandra Singh, Jeje Lalpekhlua (Mohun Bagan), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar), Thoi Singh (Bengaluru), Zakeer Mundampara (DSK Shivajians) and Jayesh Rane (Mumbai FC) – to the 2015-16 I-League.

Chennaiyin’s four foreign centre-backs during the 2015 ISL – Bernard Mendy (France), Alessandro Potenza (Italy), Mailson Alves (Brazil) and Eder Monteiro – have also found new destinations following the expiry of their contracts with the Chennai franchise.

Mendy has joined Kolkata’s East Bengal Club while Eder has completed a move to Goan outfit Salgaocar FC. Potenza has signed for Italian third tier outfit Casertana FC while Mailson has returned to his homeland to play for Brazilian fourth tier club Volta Redonda FC.

Meanwhile ISL 2015 Golden Boot and Golden Ball winner John Steven Mendoza has returned to his parent club Corinthians and ISL 2014 Golden Boot winner Elano Blumer is also back at his parent club FC Santos.