THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Leicester City crowned Premier League champions

Premier League - Leicester City FC

Leicester City FC have won the Premier League title for the first time in their club history. Tottenham’s 2-2 draw at Chelsea on Monday sealed a historic fairytale season for Claudio Ranieri’s side.

It looked like Tottenham could keep their title hopes alive last night: Goals from Harry Kane (35′) and Son Heung-min (44′) gave the visitors a 2-0 lead at half-time. But Chelsea bounced back in the second half as Gary Cahill (58′) reduced the margin and Eden Hazard (83′) equalised with a curling shot to kick-off celebrations in Leicester.

Leicester City are top of the table with 77 point to their name, while Tottenham remain 2nd with 70 points.

The Foxes started the 2015/16 campaign as underdogs and 5,000-1 outsiders for the title after almost being relegated last season. But they stood up with consistency in this Premiership winning season losing just three league games so far.

Leicester’s achievement is described as the most unlikely triumph in the history of English football and most probably a story which could be a Hollywood blockbuster.