THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Bundesliga clubs set to lock horns at Telekom Cup 2017

Telekom Cup 2017 (© Telekom)

Bundesliga champions FC Bayern Munich, Fortuna Düsseldorf, Borussia Moenchengladbach and 1. FSV Mainz 05 will lock horns in the Telekom Cup 2017 on January 14, 2017. The 8th edition of the tournament hosted by the Deutsche Telekom will be played at the ESPRIT arena in Düsseldorf.

Home side Fortuna Düsseldorf will take on Bayern Munich in the first semifinal (15.00 CET /19.30 IST / 14.00 GMT), while Borussia Moenchengladbach and 1. FSV Mainz 05 face each other in the second semifinal (16.15 CET / 20.45 IST / 15.15 GMT).

The losing semifinalists will feature in a 3rd Place Match (17.30 CET / 22.00 IST / 16.30 GMT), before the Telekom Cup 2017 culminates in the grand final.

Robert Schäfer, Chairman, Fortuna Düsseldorf: “We are delighted that we have managed to bring the Telekom Cup to Düsseldorf for the very first time. We and our fans are obviously looking forward to the opening match against FC Bayern Munich. It is a highlight for our young team to take on such classy opponents at home.”

“The Telekom Cup will be a great experience with top-class matches and interesting accompanying programme,” said Hiro Kishi, Head of Sportsponsoring, Deutsche Telekom. “Tickets will be available at affordable prices between 12,50 € and 40 €.”

All the matches will have a duration of 45 minutes without extra-time. A penalty shoot-out would take place in case of a draw at full time.

(Image: © Telekom)