THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Goa and West Bengal off to winning starts in the Santosh Trophy 2017

Match action during the 71st Santosh Trophy 2017 encounter Goa v Meghalaya (Photo courtesy: AIFF Media)

Hosts Goa and 31-times champions West Bengal were off to winning starts on the opening day of the 71st National Football Championship for the Santosh Trophy 2017 in Goa. While Goa beat Meghalaya 2-1, West Bengal scraped past Chandigarh by a solitary goal.

At the JMC Bambolim Stadium, after a barren first half, U-21 player Latesh Latesh Mandrekar put Goa in the lead in the 50th minute. Hardly had the celebrations died down, another U-21 player namely Liston Colaco doubled the score in the 52nd minute.

Stung after conceding two goals in two minutes, Meghalaya tried to regroup and pulled one back almost immediately when Enestar Malngiang scored in the 55th minute.

In the other match, West Bengal rode on a 90th minute strike from SK Faiaz to claim full points against Chandigarh at the Navelim Ground.

(Report & Photo courtesy: AIFF Media)