THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mumbai District FA successfully holds MDFA Awards Night 2018

MDFA – Mumbai District Football Association

The Mumbai District Football Association organised their second annual MDFA Awards Night 2018 which was held on Monday, April 30 at the Cooperage in Mumbai.

The MDFA Awards Night 2018 saw former India internationals Shabbir Ali and I.M. Vijayan as chief guests with especially Shabbir Ali recollecting his ties to Mumbai as a player and later as coach.

Former I-League side ONGC received the MDFA Elite Division trophy and a cash prize of Rs 100,000 (1 lakh) for winning the league this season after having finished runners-up in the last couple of years with Air India finishing runners-up ahead of Union Bank of India.

The MDFA Super Division trophy went to HDFC ahead of second placed Central Railway and Air India Under-19s as third.

The MDFA Women’s League trophy went to Football Leaders Academy as champions with Football School of India finishing runners-up ahead of third placed FC Mumbaikar.

Individual Award Winners

MDFA Elite Division – Best Goalkeeper: Pravin C. (Air India), Best Defender: Arvind Raj (Air India), Best Midfielder: F. Lalmuanpuia (ONGC), Best Striker: Ranjeet Pandre (Union Bank of India)

MDFA Super Division – Best Goalkeeper: Sanjeev Verma (Bank of India), Best Defender: Shailesh Jadhav (Bank of India), Best Midfielder: Somesh Nair (Air India U-19), Best Striker: Ramesh M. (HDFC)

MDFA Women’s League – Best Goalkeeper: Shreeya Yadav (Football Leaders Academy), Best Defender: Afreen Peerbhoy (Football School of India), Best Midfielder: Sujata Kar (Mumbaikar), Best Striker: Delfiya Pereira (FLA)

MDFA Awards Night 2018 – Video