THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

France defeat Croatia 4-2 to win the 2018 FIFA World Cup

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Final

France have won the 2018 FIFA World Cup with an exciting 4-2 win against Croatia in the final at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia on Sunday evening.

Didier Deschamps’ team took the lead against the run of play, when Croatia striker Mario Mandzukic headed a Antoine Griezmann free-kick into his own goal in the 18th minute. But Croatia responded quickly as Ivan Perisic put a left-footed strike past France goalkeeper Hugo Lloris to level the score-line.

Referee Nestor Pitana awarded France a penalty afer using the VAR to review a handball by Perisic inside the box. Griezmann took the resulting penalty and slotted home to give “Les Bleus” once again the lead as both teams went into the half-time break.

Paul Pogba (59′) and Kylian Mbappe (65′) increased the lead which put an end to Croatia’s hopes for a comeback in the FIFA World Cup final.

Mandzukic reduced the deficit, when he took advantage of a major goalkeeping blunder by Lloris. But the goal didn’t impress the French side who dominated proceedings in the second half.

France secured a 4-2 win against Croatia to lift their second FIFA World Cup title, while Deschamps became the third man to win the FIFA World Cup Trophy as player and manager.

FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 – Final

France 4-2 (2-1) Croatia

Goals: 1-0 Mario Mandzukic (18′ own Goal), 1-1 Ivan Perisic (28′), 2-1 Antoine Griezmann (38′ pen), 3-1 Paul Pogba (59′), 4-1 Kylian Mbappe (65′), 4-2 Mario Mandzukic (69′)

France: Lloris – Pavard, Varane, Umtiti, Lucas – Kanté (54′ N’Zonzi) – Pogba, Matuidi (73′ Tolisso) – Mbappé, Griezmann – Giroud (81′ Fekir)
Subs: Areola, Mandanda, Kimpembe, Mendy, Rami, Sidibé, Lemar, Dembelé, Thauvin

Croatia: Subasic – Vrsaljko, Lovren, Vida, Strinic (81′ Pjaca) – Rakitic, Brozovic – Modric – Rebic (71′ Kramaric), Perisic – Mandzukic
Subs: L. Kalinic, Livakovic, Caleta-Car, Corluka, Jedvaj, Pivaric, Badelj, Bradaric, Kovacic

Referee: Nestor Pitana (Argentina)

Man of the Match: Antoine Griezmann (France)