THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Chhinga Veng FC retain their MPL U-18 championship crown

The victorious Chhinga Veng FC U-18 squad. (Photo courtesy: Mizoram Football Association)
The victorious Chhinga Veng FC U-18 squad. Photo courtesy: Mizoram Football Association

Last season’s winners Chhinga Veng FC retained their crown as they beat Mizoram Police FC in the final of Mizoram Premier League (MPL) U-18 – Season 7 played yesterday at the AR Lammual.

Chhinga Veng FC dominated the play from whistle to whistle – after scoring a brilliant opener on the 16th minute through Ramhlunchhunga, they consolidated their position by scoring on the 33rd minute by the eventual player of the tournament Lalchungnunga. Lalramdinthara capitalised from a defender’s mistake and scored the third goal at the end.

Match Stats

Chhinga Veng FC 3-0 Mizoram Police FC
[Ramhlunchhunga 16′, C.Lalchungnunga 33′, Lalramdinthara 85′]

MPL U-18 Prizes

Champion: Chhinga Veng FC, Rs 10,000 + Trophy
Runners-Up: Mizoram Police FC, Rs 5,000 + Trophy
Fair Play: Chhinga Veng FC, Rs 2,000 + Trophy

Individual Awards

Best Player: C. Lalchungnunga (Chhinga Veng FC) – Rs 500 + Trophy
Top Scorer: F. Lallawmkima (Chhinga Veng FC) – 10 goals, Rs 500 + Trophy
Best Defender: Saidingliana (Chhinga Veng FC) – Rs 500 + Trophy
Best Goalkeeper: Johny Vanlalhriatpuia (Chhinga Veng FC) – Rs 500 + Trophy
Best Midfielder: Lalremruata Hauhnar (Aizawl FC) – Rs 500 + Trophy
Best Forward: F. Lallawmkima (Chhinga Veng FC) – Rs 500 + Trophy

(Mizoram Football Association)