THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FC Schalke 04 clinch Budenzauber Emsland 2019 title

Budenzauber Emsland 2019 (© KÜHN Sportconsulting)
Budenzauber Emsland 2019 (© KÜHN Sportconsulting)

FC Schalke 04 has won the 6th edition of the Budenzauber Emsland at the EmslandArena in Lingen on Saturday, January 12. The Budenzauber Emsland is an indoor football tournament organised by KÜHN Sportconsulting.

The Budenzauber Emsland 2019 featured six Legends Teams namely 1. FC Nürnberg, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, FC Schalke 04, SV Meppen, SV Werder Bremen and VfL Osnabrück. Fans at the EmslandArena had the opportunity to watch various Bundesliga legends of the past such as Ailton, Patrick Helmes, Ivan Klasnic, Martin Max and Oliver Reck.

The teams were divided to two groups with 1. FC Nürnberg, Bayer 04 Leverkusen and FC Schalke 04 facing each other in Group A. Group B consisted of SV Meppen, SV Werder Bremen and VfL Osnabrück.

The group stage matches turned out to be an exciting affair and delighted the capacity crowd of 3,155. Leverkusen and Schalke advanced from Group A to the semi-finals, while Meppen and Osnabrück booked their spots from Group B.

FC Schalke 04 had no difficulties against SV Meppen in the first semi-final of the day. The men in their royal blue jerseys coached by Rüdiger Abramczik and 1990 FIFA World Cup winner Olaf Thon won the match 5-1.

The second semifinal between Leverkusen and Osnabrück was a closely-contested encounter, which ended 3-3 after regulation time. The match went into a penalty shoot-out which ended in favour of Leverkusen.

The grand final of the Budenzauber Emsland 2019 marked the climax of an entertaining indoor football tournament, as the two best teams met for a showdown in the EmslandArena. Schalke and Osnabrück impressed throughout the tournament with classy indoor football and the finals turned out to be a competetive match.

Both sides settled for a 1-1 draw after regulation time and the final needed a penalty shoot-out to pick a new champion. Schalke goalkeeper Christof Osigus saved the last spot kick to secure FC Schalke 04 a 7-6 win on penalties.

Budenzauber Emsland 2019

Group Stage

Group A
Bayer 04 Leverkusen 4-3 FC Schalke 04
FC Schalke 04 3-3 1. FC Nürnberg
Bayer 04 Leverkusen 4-2 1. FC Nürnberg

Group B
SV Werder Bremen 1-3 VfL Osnabrück
SV Werder Bremen 4-5 SV Meppen
SV Meppen 4-3 VfL Osnabrück


SV Meppen 1-5 FC Schalke 04
Bayer 04 Leverkusen 3-3, 3-4 VfL Osnabrück (on penalties)

3rd Place Penalty Shoot-out

SV Meppen 2-3 Bayer 04 Leverkusen


FC Schalke 04 1-1, 7-6 VfL Osnabrück (on penalties)

Individual Awards

Golden Boot Award
Patrick Helmes (Bayer 04 Leverkusen) – 7 goals

Golden Glove Award
Markus Antczak (SV Meppen)

Player of the Tournament Award
Martin Max (FC Schalke 04)

Fan Favourite of the Tournament Award
Patrick Helmes (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)