THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Draw delivers groups for the inaugural edition of the Concacaf Nations League

Concacaf Nations League

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) conducted the official draw for the 2019 Concacaf Nations League, at the Chelsea Theater in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The gala event, which sub-divided the three Leagues into groups, featured remarks from Concacaf President Victor Montagliani. Concacaf Chief Football Officer Manolo Zubiria conducted the draw alongside Concacaf Director of Development and former Grenada international footballer, Jason Roberts.

The home-and-away group stage of the 2019 Concacaf Nations league will be played on the FIFA match dates of September, October and November 2019. The Final Championship will take place in 2020. The groups for the 2019 Concacaf Nations League are as follows (listed in the order drawn):

League A

Group A: United States, Canada and Cuba
Group B: Mexico, Panama and Bermuda
Group C: Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago and Martinique
Group D: Costa Rica, Haiti and Curacao

League B

Group A: French Guiana, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Belize and Grenada
Group B: El Salvador, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia and Monserrat
Group C: Jamaica, Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda and Aruba
Group D: Nicaragua, Suriname, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica

League C

Group A: Barbados, Cayman Islands, Saint Martin and U.S. Virgin Islands
Group B: Bonaire, Bahamas and British Virgin Islands
Group C: Guatemala, Puerto Rico and Anguilla
Group D: Guadeloupe, Turks and Caicos and Sint Maarten

At the conclusion of the group stage, the winners of each League A group will qualify to the Final Championship, while the League B and C group winners will be promoted to League A and B for the next edition of the competition. Additionally, the teams at the bottom of each League A and B group will be relegated to League B and C.

The full schedule, including kick off times and venues will be announced at a later date.