THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

GSA ITI Veng are the Mizoram Women’s League champions

MFA Women's League champions GSA ITI Veng. (Photo courtesy: Mizoram Football Association)
MFA Women's League champions GSA ITI Veng. Photo courtesy: Mizoram Football Association

The inaugural Mizoram Football Association Women’s League was concluded today, April 23 with GSA ITI Veng becoming the first ever MFA Women’s League champions.

They overcame Maubawk Women FC in an entertaining final encounter with three second half goals ensuring a spirited comeback after going a goal down.

The champions bagged a prize of Rs. 50,000 along with the prestigious MFA Women’s League trophy.

Maubawk Women FC took the lead just before half-time through semifinal heroine Zairemmawii whose brace in the last four sank league leaders Vakiria FC.

GSA ITI Veng started the comeback through Lallungmuani on tbe 55th minute and took the lead seven minutes later after Maubawk Women FC failed to deal with a corner delivery properly.

Ruthy Lalrinmawii then sealed the win in stoppage time for GSA ITI Veng taking advantage of a mishap at the back from Maubawk.

The inaugural season of Mizoram Women’s League have five teams participating who played against each other twice. The top four team played a semifinal knockout match and then the final.

Maubawk Women’s FC 1-3 GSA ITI
(M: 35′ Zairemmawii; G: 55′ Lallungmuani, 62′ Lalremruati, 70+4′ Ruthy Lalrinmawii)

Champions: GSA ITI Veng – Trophy + Rs 50,000
Runners-Up: Maubawk WFC – Rs 25,000
Semifinalists: Vakiria FC & Chanmari WFC – Rs 10,000 each
Fifth position: Siaha DFA – Rs 80,00
Fair Play Award: Vakiria FC – Rs 10,000

Individual Prizes
Top Scorer: Grace H Lalrampari (Vakiria FC)
Best Goalkeeper: Lalmuanawmi (Maubawk WFC)
Best Defender: K. Lalruatfeli (Vakiria FC)
Best Midfielder: PC Lalduhthlani (GSA ITI Veng)
Best Forward: Lalnuntluangi (Vakiria FC)

All individual prizes come with a trophy and Rs 1,000 cash prize each.