THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe crowned The Best 2019

The Best FIFA Football Awards

The famous Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Italy welcomed the who is who of world football to honour the winners of The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 on Monday night.

Argentine legend Lionel Messi claimed the award for The Best FIFA Men’s Player, while United States Women’s national team superstar Megan Rapinoe took home the honours for The Best FIFA Women’s Player.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and Women’s Coach awards went to Liverpool FC manager Jürgen Klopp and 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup winning coach Jill Ellis respectively.

Sari van Veenendaal was named the inaugural The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper. Liverpool FC’s Alisson picked up The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award.

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019

Men’s Player
Lionel Messi

Women’s Player
Megan Rapinoe

Men’s Coach
Jürgen Klopp

Women’s Coach
Jill Elliss

Men’s Goalkeeper

Women’s Goalkeeper
Sari van Veenendaal

Puskás Award
Daniel Zsori

Fan Award
Silvia Grecco

Fair Play Award
Marcelo Bielsa

Men’s World11
Alisson; Matthijs de Ligt, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Virgil van Dijk; Frenkie de Jong, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi

Women’s World11
Sari van Veenendaal; Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Wendie Renard; Julie Ertz, Amandine Henry, Rose Lavelle; Marta, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe