THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

German Football Ambassador launches voting for Public Award 2020

Deutscher Fußball Botschafter e.V.

The non-profit association German Football Ambassadors (Deutscher Fußball Botschafter) has nominated eleven foreign-based players this year’s Public Award category. The selection was made by the jury chaired by Rainer Holzschuh, consisting of Doris Fitschen, Horst Hrubesch, Lutz Pfannenstiel, Dr. Martin Schäfer and Berti Vogts.

Roland Bischof, founder of the German Football Ambassador, said, “Our nomination criteria count on appearing on and off the pitch. The corona pandemic is currently making it particularly clear how important and valuable personal commitment and responsible action are.”

The voting started on Friday, April 10, while football fans can vote for their favorites directly via online voting until May 17, 2020 at:

The following players are candidates this year:

• Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea FC Women, England)
• Robin Gosens (Atalanta Bergamo, Italien)
• Pascal Groß (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)
• Benedikt Höwedes (Lokomotiv Moskau, Russland)
• Thilo Kehrer (FC Paris Saint-Germain, Frankreich)
• Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Spanien)
• Marko Marin (Al-Ahli Dschidda, Saudi-Arabien)
• Dzsenifer Marozsán (Olympique Lyon, Frankreich)
• Lukas Podolski (Antalyaspor, Türkei)
• Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea FC, England)
• Leroy Sané (Manchester City FC)

All participants in the online voting can also optionally take part in the competition, in which exciting prizes are waiting for them.

Support over 30 social projects in 20 countries worldwide

For the eighth time, the German Football Ambassador e.V. honours German football players and coaches for their social and social engagement abroad and honours them for their contribution to the positive image of Germany in the world. Since all awards go hand in hand with the support of a social project, over 30 social projects worldwide have already been funded. “Promoting social projects and also appreciating the commitment of football personalities is the basis of our idea,” said founder Roland Bischof.

Unfortunately, the official presentation of the prize cannot take place this year at the annual award ceremony in May by the German Foreign Minister Heiko Maas, since this event also had to be canceled due to the Covid-19 pandemic – a replacement solution is currently being developed.