THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FC Bayern wrap up Bundesliga title with a win at Werder Bremen

FC Bayern München (Photo: © CPD Football)
FC Bayern München (Photo: © CPD Football)

Bundesliga giants FC Bayern Munich have won the 2019-20 Bundesliga title following their 1-0 win against SV Werder Bremen on Tuesday evening. It is Bayern’s eighth successive Bundesliga title and 29th overall in league history.

“In Bremen, we want to play just the way we have in the past few weeks, with dynamism and intensity. We want the three points. That would make us champions, which is even better,” said head coach Hansi Flick during the pre-match press conference. And his side didn’t disappoint at all in their away win at the wohninvest WESERSTADION in Bremen.

Werder Bremen had lost their last 18 meetings with Bayern in a row before the match and the relegation-fighting side faced an uphill task against an strong Bayern Munich side. But Bremen put up a spirited performance against the German powerhouse and even had their opportunities to score.

Nevertheless, Bayern found the back of the net minutes before half-time, when Robert Lewandowski hit the target with a cool finish past Bremen goalkeeper Jiri Pavlenka in the 43rd minute.

Yuya Osako came close to level the score line for the hosts in the second half, but he was denied by an outstanding save by Manuel Neuer.

Bayern have an unassailable 10-point lead at the summit with two games to spare.