THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Draw delivers Preliminary Round and Round of 16 matchups for 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf League

Scotiabank Concacaf League

Concacaf today conducted the official draw for Preliminary Round and Round of 16 matchups of the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf League. The tournament is set to kick off on October 20.

The draw, which was hosted by TV personalities Alejandro de la Rosa (TUDN) and Natalia Alvarez (ESPN), included appearances by Honduran football legend Amado Guevara and Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio.

In order to fit the competition into a new schedule, the Preliminary Round and Round of 16 will be played as single game ties at the highest ranked club’s stadium. All other rounds will be played as two game ties (home and away).

The 12 clubs participating in the Preliminary Round of the competition have been divided into six pairings as follows (home club listed first):

Matchup #1: CD FAS (SLV) vs Managua FC (NCA)
Matchup #2: LD Alajuelense (CRC) vs Cibao FC (DOM)
Matchup #3: CD Municipal Limeño (SLV) vs Forge FC (CAN)
Matchup #4: CA Independiente (PAN) vs Antigua GFC (GUA)
Matchup #5: Arcahaie FC (HAI) vs Verdes FC (BLZ)
Matchup #6: FC Motagua (HON) vs Comunicaciones FC (GUA)

The six Preliminary Round matchups will be played October 20-22, as single game ties at the highest ranked club’s stadium.

The ten clubs seeded into the Round of 16 and the six Preliminary Round winners have been divided into eight parings and will play as follows (home team listed first):

Matchup #1: Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) vs CSD Municipal (GUA)
Matchup #2: CD Marathon (HON) vs CA Independiente (PAN) or Antigua GFC (GUA)
Matchup #3: Tauro FC (PAN) vs CD Municipal Limeño (SLV) or Forge FC (CAN)
Matchup #4: Waterhouse FC (JAM) vs Arcahaie FC (HAI) or Verdes FC (BLZ)
Matchup #5: Alianza FC (SLV) vs FC Motagua (HON) or Comunicaciones FC (GUA)
Matchup #6: CD Olimpia (HON) vs CD FAS (SLV) or Managua FC (NCA)
Matchup #7: San Francisco FC (PAN) vs LD Alajuelense (CRC) or Cibao FC (DOM)
Matchup #8: CS Herediano (CRC) vs Real Esteli FC (NCA)

The schedule for the all rounds of the competition is as follows:

October 2020  
20-22 Preliminary Round (single leg match)

November 2020  
3-5: Round of 16 (single leg match)

December 2020
1-3: Quarterfinals (first leg)
8-10: Quarterfinals (second leg)

January 2021  
5-7: Semifinals (first leg)
12-14 Semifinals (second leg)
19-21: Final (first leg)
26-28: Final (second leg)

Kick off times and venues, will be announced in the coming days.

In addition to qualifying its champion to the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League, the tournament now qualifies a further five teams. At the end of the Concacaf League , the champion and the next five best ranked will qualify to the 2021 edition of the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.