THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel Fans’ Teams of the Year 2020 announced

Union des Associations Européennes de Football (UEFA)

After over a month of voting during which almost 6 million votes were cast, the women’s and men’s Fans’ Teams of the Year 2020 can now be revealed.

For the 20th year running, football supporters around the world were invited to select their teams from shortlists of 50 elite players playing for clubs in UEFA’s 55 member associations in 2020. As well as the men’s poll, fans were also given the chance to select their women’s Team of the Year for the first time, reflecting the ever-increasing appeal of the women’s game.

The Fans’ Women’s Team of the Year 2020

• Sarah Bouhaddi (Olympique Lyonnais & France)
• Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City FC & England)
• Kadeisha Buchanan (Olympique Lyonnais & Canada)
• Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais & France)
• Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea FC & Sweden)
• Kheira Hamraoui (FC Barcelona & France)
• Amandine Henry (Olympique Lyonnais & France)
• Delphine Cascarino (Olympique Lyonnais & France)
• Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (VfL Wolfsburg/Olympique Lyonnais & Iceland)
• Daniëlle van de Donk (Arsenal FC & Netherlands)
• Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea FC & Denmark)

The inaugural Fans’ Women’s Team of the Year includes six of Olympique Lyonnais’ UEFA Women’s Champions League title-winning squad. The eleven selected players represent six different clubs and seven countries, with France (five players) being the most represented nation.

The team features the 2020 UEFA’s Women’s Player of the Year Pernille Harder, who inspired VfL Wolfsburg to another German double and UEFA Women’s Champions League final before moving to Chelsea FC later in the year. She also helped Denmark qualify for UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 in impressive fashion.

The Fans’ Men’s Team of the Year 2020

• Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München & Germany)
• Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern München & Germany)
• Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF & Spain)
• Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC & Netherlands)
• Alphonso Davies (FC Bayern München & Canada)
• Thiago Alcántara (FC Bayern München/Liverpool FC & Spain)
• Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City FC & Belgium)
• Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus & Portugal)
• Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona & Argentina)
• Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain & Brazil)
• Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern München & Poland)