THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Thrilling AFC Champions League encounters set to be revealed

AFC Champions League

Defending champions Ulsan Hyundai FC will be among the top eight clubs who will discover their pathway leading to the AFC Champions League 2021 Final when the Knockout Stage draw takes place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, at 3pm (local time) tomorrow.

After a drama-filled Round of 16, the remaining eight contenders will shift their attention to the centralised single-leg Quarter-finals and Semi-finals where the East Region matches will be played in Korea Republic and the West Region matches and the all-important Final hosted in Saudi Arabia on November 23.

An open draw will be implemented tomorrow with the participating clubs divided into two pots – West and East Regions – with the first and second balls drawn placed as Team A while the remaining balls will represent Team B.

The West Region pot will comprise AFC Champions League 2019 winners Al Hilal from Saudi Arabia, who defeated IR Iran’s Esteghlal FC 2-0 in their Round of 16 match, and UAE’s Al Wahda FSCC, making their first appearance at this stage of the competition since 2007.

They will be joined by 2018 and 2020 finalists Persepolis FC of IR Iran and another Saudi Arabian giant Al Nassr FC who kept alive their hopes of capturing their first AFC Champions League title after edging IR Iran’s Tractor FC 1-0.

In the East Region, Ulsan Hyundai FC remain the team to beat with the title holders extending their winning streak in the AFC Champions League to 16 matches after defeating Japan’s Kawasaki Frontale on penalties.

Japan’s Nagoya Grampus qualified to the Quarter-finals for the second time in the club’s history after knocking out newcomers Daegu FC from Korea Republic 4-2 in an enthralling Round of 16 encounter.

Meanwhile multiple club continental champions Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors and FC Pohang Steelers make up the final eight after defeating Thailand’s BG Pathum United and Cerezo Osaka of Japan respectively.